What were you wearing?

Well, this is what I was wearing:

IMG_1111
“You too are showing your ass?” South France 2001. 1pm at the train station. (ok,it is not exactly the same skirt. The one I was wearing at that time was longer. Yes, you read right, it was longer).
IMG_1113
“You call me tomorrow? No??? Fuck you racist blond bitch”South of France spring 1999. A big avenue in the afternoon.
IMG_1115
A hand grabbed my ass. South of France, winter 2000. 20:30 in front of my home. I was back from a class.
IMG_1119
“I can see you’re an high class hooker. I’m sure you’re very expensive.” South of France 2001, crowded city center in the middle of the afternoon.

 

IMG_1114
Good evening pretty girl. Don’t wanna answer me? Hey whore! WHORE!!!“Paris, gare St Lazare early evening, 2008.
IMG_1105
You say only thank you? Next time I screw you against the wall you slut!!“Paris, Place Trinité d’Orves, winter 2009. I was losing the belt of my coat and this guy pointed it out. I thanked him and he replied this.
IMG_1108
Do you have light? No? You suck well then?“Paris, Place de l’Etoile, Fall 2008. 2 young guys at the RER exit.
IMG_1109
Dick sucker” Paris, rue du Scribe, beside the Opera. I was going to a ballet performance. Fall 2009.
IMG_1112
The man seating next me grabbed my thigh. RER B, France 2010. I was back from a ballet class and couldn’t manage to have a shower. I was sweaty and with messy hair.

This is just a small selection of all I heard in my life just because I was a girl/woman alone in the street.
I remember these incidents and what I was exactly wearing because they occured on a day, a moment I had something special to do. But there were much, much more.
I feel better where I live now. I’ve got some unwanted comments but not as much as when I was living in France. May be it’s time to get over with this “seduction” which is in fact harassment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

